May 28, 2013

Nuthin' To Squeal About

Ahhh...Memorial Day Weekend! A time for honoring our servicemen, shopping, and eating BBQ. Well, this past Saturday, I decided to get some BBQ from a place called Squeal. I've eyed Squeal for several years now, but never had the opportunity to eat there. New Orleans doesn't have many BBQ places (many residents just bbq on their own), so the one's that do exist definitely stand out. Squeal is nestled in a quiet neighborhood section of Carrollton, has the cutest little pig sign and is quite the center of attention for the annual Po-Boy Festival. Well my friends, Squeal had it's positives, but unfortunately the food was not one of them.
Squeal Bar-B-Q on Urbanspoon
Sweet-Bittersweet-Not Sweet
Squeal is Not Sweet
Let's start with the positives! It's an adorable house, with a porch that was converted into a business. So it has a real family-oriented charm. As you walk in the front door, there is a bar with plenty of spirits to make anyone happy. The staff greeted us as soon as we walked in and promptly sat us at the table of OUR choosing. I thought that was really nice.
I love the decor of the place! It's walls are filled with local New Orleans artwork and each table top has a specific design. Our table top was a really cool guitar! It was truly beautiful. Squeal was very clean and the only negative thing I noticed was that it was a little warm inside. They were open for about a half-hour before we arrived, so maybe they didn't turn the air on until opening. We were given menu's and then that's where the problems began.
I knew what I was going to order, because I had looked at their menu online. I ordered their BBQ chicken and the two sides I requested was baked beans and potato salad. The waitress apologized and said they didn't have baked beans or potato salad ready at the moment. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. How can a BBQ place not have baked beans or potato salad...ready? It wasn't her fault, but I was a little perturbed by that. That's like a peanut butter & jelly sandwich without the jelly! BBQ + baked beans + potato salad = just goes together! I ended up getting greens and cole slaw instead. Not what I wanted (at all), but I dealt with it.

When the food arrived it looked beautiful and they gave you really HUGE portions. Great!!! Well, NOT GREAT. The chicken was barely warm ( I didn't care for the sauce. It leaves a bitter taste in your mouth), the cole slaw was dry, and the greens were tough. The jalapeno hush puppies and bread were good! My guest and I, ate a little chicken, some bread and washed it down with tea. The food just doesn't have a good taste to it. It's bland and you have to wonder if any seasoning is being used. It's edible, but that's about it. I was truly disappointed. I didn't think you could mess up BBQ chicken and sides.

I brought the rest of my food home, heated it and gave it a second chance. I came to the same conclusion. I can't recommend Squeal to anyone. I didn't have an appetizer. I didn't have the ribs, so I can't judge those. I looked on Urbanspoon afterwards and found out that either people liked (food I didn't try) or really disliked Squeal (more of the latter). Surprisingly, some of the same reasons I mentioned. So it was good to know my review wasn't far off.
top: talbots / striped maxi skirt: target / sandals: old navy

56 comments:

Linda Greaves said...

Hmmm, too bad the food wasn't good! It sounded promising at first, huh? Aha, oh well, at least you can cross it off the list of places to try!
Hope you had a lovely Memorial Day

Trendy Teal

oomph. said...

bummer about the place. seriously, how can you open and not be prepared with the food?!?!

you look cute, tho...and i spy those shoes you were telling me about!

[oomph.]

fluff and fripperies said...

Oh no! Sorry to hear you were so disappointed - this place does NOT sound good!

ShaunaQ said...

That's too bad! Especially with such a cute name!

www.MommaCandy.com

FASHION TALES said...

That is too bad! Cute post title,a and love the photo of you! xx/Madison

flysongbird said...

you look good..hope you had a good time otherwise.i agree with you, how can someone screw up bbq chicken and sides!

The Dainty Dolls House said...

You look gorgeous doll, love that skirt :)) So pretty. What a shame the place was a downer, but I always appreciate your completely honest reviews. It looks good, but yet not as good as I would think. Such a shame, love all of those foods you chose too. And I agree with you, you can NOT have that without baked beans and potato salad, so strange! What a shame!! I hope you find a better place or have a massive grill out & have all the stuff you want, haha :)) Have a sweet day doll :)

BIKBIK AND RORO said...

O dear. I think the name alone would have put me off from the outset, and I'm fairly certain no pig would look that relaxed being roasted. You look adorable as always though!

Aga Guerrero Olesinska said...

Looks delicious
Kisses
Aga

www.agasuitcase.com

Mica said...

Aww shame the food wasn't great, as it looks like such a nice place to eat! Always good to give something a try now and then though :)


Really like your striped maxi dress too, so nice with the white tee :)


Away From Blue

Meghan Silva said...

That's such a pitty , food leaving bad tastes in your mouth that's awful.

Meghan Silva's Blog

miss b said...

How disappointing for you, Kim and it looked so promising with the cute little porch, the artwork and the interesting table tops. It's difficult too when they don't have your choices. I like to take my time and look at the menu on line at home too. You will have to barbecue at home next time!! I just wish we had barbecue weather - all this rain would put out the flames in two seconds!

http://missbbobochic.blogspot.co.uk/

Tina Bradley said...

Sorry to hear your dinner was a disappointment. You look gorgeous, though! I absolutely love your striped maxi skirt! T. http://tickledpinkwoman.blogspot.com

Heather said...

That looks awesome - and how fabulous is the name Squeal for a BBQ joint - too cool!

XO
Pearls & Paws

two birds said...

that's too bad...it sounds like they had some potential but aren't utilizing it! at least now you know! i hope you had a nice weekend!

two birds said...

i also meant to say, at least you looked great eating there! i love that skirt!

Emmy said...

That's too bad about the food:( The place itself looks quite charming. Well, at least, as the others have said, you looked great while in there:)

Coco said...

It's a pity because the place at first glance looks really cool! Love your maxi skirt sweetie!!
xoxo
Coco et La vie en rose
Coco et La vie en rose on Bloglovin
Coco et La vie en rose on Facebook

TheTinyHeart said...

How disappointing! You really don't know if the food's good in a place till you try it out for yourself. Love your striped maxi skirt!

-Sharon
The Tiny Heart
Bracelet Giveaway!

Phioxee said...

I hope the food did not ruin your holiday:-( u wil never find out until u try. Ur review will help them improve their service

Lilli said...

Hi Kim! So sorry for it, you must have had a big disappointment! It happened many times also to me with some locals here, better for you to have tried once so you be sure to not come back there! Kisses dear! xo

Mighty B said...

I love me some good BBQ chicken, sorry that was a disappointment to you. I hate it when that happens. Btw, I love that maxi skirt :)

-B

Always Maylee said...

Aw too bad it was not sweet! That's always disappointing.

xo, Yi-chia
Always Maylee

Kate Sullivan Corpuz said...

Oh, sorry it was a disappointment! At least you have plenty of other fabulous restaurants in New Orleans~

always, koru kate

Sacramento Amate said...

I am a vegetarian, but everything looks so delicious, including YOU.
Miss Paps.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

MaysaAndSunshine said...

Come to Texas for good BBQ baby!! There are BBQ places everywhere. Not all of them are good but chances are you will not find that many bad ones here Kim. You look stylish as always in the black and white combo.

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Sad to hear it didn't rock. Fun review though. :)

Sara Gerard said...

I love your outfit! Sorry that Squeal was so disappointing! If you are ever in Detroit, I will take you to Slows. BEST.BBQ.EVER. :D

Sam said...

Even though I am not from your side of the pond, i appreciate your honesty in this review. Its a sig of integrity on your part. Its such a pity about the food. What are jalapeño hushpuppies by the way? They sound really interesting.

Jessica said...

I am sorry the place was not good. It absolutely looks like it would be a restaurant my baby brother would love. He loves barbecue more than anyone I have ever known. As a vegetarian I don't remember the last time I was in a barbecue restaurant.

You look amazing.

Tracy

Style Journey said...

That's a bummer about the restaurant. I get myself all hyped up for a new place and then get disappointed a lot. The food looked good in the pics, sorry it wasn't what it was all cracked up to be though! Heather

CRISTINA SURDU said...

i'm so hungry in this moment ;). Yuuummyyy,a really nice place ;)

Laura Go said...

Sorry to hear the food wasn't up to par! That sucks. B and I love looking for smaller, local restaurants that have charming stories, but those don't matter if the food isn't as good!

At least you looked lovely! those sandals are cute!
♥ laura
the blog of worldly delights
the shop of worldly delights

Wil Harris said...

Wow, what a disappointment! It goes to show that presentation is not everything! Your review was honest and you even gave the good with the bad.
We hope you had a great Memorial Day weekend!
XOX Wil Harris

Anya Jensen said...

Hmm always so disappointing when a place you'd looked forward to doesn't match expectations. This place doesn't sound nice, and at the start of service, the chefs should have everything ready (different had it been at the end right) You looked fab though - hope the next place is better.
Axx

Northern Style Exposure said...

Too bad it was amazing. The pics made it look so cute.

Anne said...

Sorry to hear your food wasn't good Kim but I suppose these things happen! Enjoy your week ahead!
~Anne

Michelle Verpuggi said...

adorable your blog! Shall we follow? let me know XSE
www.supongoestilo.blogspot.nl

Halima - Fashionicide said...

Oh gosh, sorry to hear about the food, Kim!

Hope it didn't ruin your weekend!

On the bright side, you got some sun! It's been an absolute washout in the UK this month, not happy at all :(

Halima

xx

Jessica said...

what a super cute name for a resturant!!! looks yummy and yor so fit love your ootd very pretty hun

Ask Erena said...

I would be disappointed too:-( And you are so right - what BBQ place doesnt have a potatoes salad????
BTW - Loooooove your striped skirt (would go so well with my striped heels)LOL!
Hugs from New York
xx
Ask Erena
http://askerena.blogspot.com/

Ramona said...

oh, i'm sorry to hear that you had such a disappointment with food. I know how you feel. Sometimes it's not so much about how posh or pretty is looking place if the food is terrible.Despite everything you look so lovely.

xoxo Ra

http://www.ramona-strikeapose.blogspot.ie/

Pamela RG said...

Hello Kim, too bad the restaurant was not ready to offer everything in their menu. The barbecued chicken looks good though.

Blond Duck said...

I'm with you-- potato salad = bbq! And bad bbq is worse than no bbq at all.

Now I want bbq.

MOSAMUSE said...

such a cute name for a restaurant! :)
cute pic!
xo
MOSAMUSE

www.MOSAMUSE.com

Dawn Gibson-Thigpen said...

Dang it look great! To bad it didn't taste great! :( Well on a good note you look VERY PRETTY! LOVE THE LIP COLOR!

http://simplysassysstyle.blogspot.com

DAWN

LyddieGal said...

Sorry to hear it was a disappointment - nothing worse than a bad meal out!
Chic on the Cheap

Real College Student of Atlanta said...

OMG YUM!! BBQ is sooo great and what you ordered looks great!!

Rebeca Muñoz López said...

Everything looks so delicious! I love your skirt.


www.urbanikamoda.blogspot.com

PAPS said...

Looks like you had a yummy weekend. Not yet seen Gatsby.
www.thoughtsofpaps.com

kim bim said...

So-so yummy!!!

Rainbow Gatherer said...

I got disappointed too by a restaurant dish yesterday at lunch time, the food was very small and we were hungry after we ate all of it :) this kind of places shall be closed :) I loved your pic, that lipstick is gorgeous on you =)

ChinkyGirLMeL said...

Awww how disappointing. I know how you feel. That's happened to me a couple times too and I feel bad that I didn't go with my usual favorite restaurant. I'm a girl who likes to stick to what I've tried and it takes so much to get me to try something new. And when I see a restaurant that looks interesting, like you, I go online to check out their menu and I also check out the price range and find reviews about the food and the service. And after months and months of doing research I finally brave up to cheat on my favorite restaurants and try out something new and well, sometimes karma leaves behind an awful after taste. Oh and I super love that shade of lipstick you have on, you look great as always.

Chic 'n Cheap Living said...

Hi from Switzerland dear! I was thinking about New Orleans food and I guess this place will be a pass - how disappointing!

xoxo,
Chic 'n Cheap Living

Mary Jo at TrustYourStyle said...

I'm sorry! THat just sucks that the meal wasn't good--but I love your honest review and at least you looked cute! Love that long maxi skirt, I'm looking for something similar, where did you get it?

xo Mary Jo

Margarita Bloom said...

Aww, that's too bad. Sounds like they need to go on one of those reality food shows to get a makeover for their food. Maybe "Gordon Ramsey" or that "Food: Impossible" show!